Saturday, June 10, 2023
Home Sports ICC World Cup Winners List | ICC ODI World Cup Winners List

ICC World Cup Winners List | ICC ODI World Cup Winners List

ICC World Cup Winners List From 1975 To 2019. The ICC World Cup or the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup is definitely the biggest event in the cricket world. One of the most watched sporting events on the planet, the event is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) every four years.

The first edition of the World Cup took place in 1975 in England. England were the hosts for the next two editions too before the World Cup finally moved out of Europe. In 1987, the event was co-hosted by India and Pakistan. It was in this edition that the matches were reduced to 50-over per innings from 60-over per innings.

In 1992, Australia and New Zealand co-hosted the competition. This edition saw a host of changes to the tournament like colored clothing, the games played with the white ball instead of the red ball, day-night matches, and so on. In 1996, the World Cup returned to the subcontinent again with India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka co-hosting it.

3 years later, the tournament returned to the English shores before it was held for the first time in Africa in 2003. West Indies hosted the competition for the first time in 2007 before India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh co-hosted it in 2011. In 2015, Australia and New Zealand co-hosted the ICC World Cup for the second time and the first time since 1992. 4 years later, England once again hosted the tournament after a gap of two decades.

ICC World Cup Winners List:

Talking about ICC World Cup winners, West Indies won the first-ever edition in 1975 by beating Australia in the final. 4 years later, they defended their title by beating England in the final. In the third edition, India stopped West Indies from completing a hat-trick of World Cup wins and won their first-ever title.

Australia won their first-ever World Cup in 1987 before Pakistan won it in 1992. In 1996, Arjuna Ranatunga led Sri Lanka to a historic triumph. 3 years later, Australia’s domination in the World Cup began as they won the first of three consecutive World Cups. Ricky Ponting led Australia to World Cup wins in 2003 and 2007.

The 2011 World Cup marked the beginning of home domination. India became the first-ever team to win the coveted title at home before Australia and England replicated the feat in 2015 and 2019 respectively. Australia are the most successful side in the history of the ICC World Cup, having won it 5 times.

Apart from Australia, only West Indies and India have won multiple World Cup titles. Both India and West Indies have won the trophy twice. The other World Cup winners are Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England.

ICC World Cup winners and runner-up list:

Year Winner Runner-up
1975 West Indies Australia
1979 West Indies England
1983 India West Indies
1987 Australia England
1992 Pakistan England
1996 Sri Lanka Australia
1999 Australia Pakistan
2003 Australia India
2007 Australia Sri Lanka
2011 India Sri Lanka
2015 Australia New Zealand
2019 England New Zealand

Here is a team-wise list showing the performance of the teams who have made it to the World Cup final:

Team Winners Runner-up Years Won Years Runner-up
Australia 5 2 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015 1975, 1996
West Indies 2 1 1975, 1979 1983
India 2 1 1983, 2011 2003
Pakistan 1 1 1992 1999
Sri Lanka 1 2 1996 2007, 2011
England 1 3 2019 1979, 1987, 1992
New Zealand 0 2 2015, 2019

Man of the match in the ICC World Cup Final list:

Year Player Performance Details
1975 Clive Lloyd 102
1979 Viv Richards 138*
1983 Mohinder Amarnath 3/12 and 26
1987 David Boon 75
1992 Wasim Akram 33 and 3/49
1996 Aravinda de Silva 107* and 3/42
1999 Shane Warne 4/33
2003 Ricky Ponting 140*
2007 Adam Gilchrist 149
2011 MS Dhoni 91*
2015 James Faulkner 3/36
2019 Ben Stokes 84* and 0/20

ICC World Cup-Winning Captain List:

Talking about the World Cup-winning captains, West Indies legend Clive Lloyd was the first captain to lift the title in 1975. 4 years later, Lloyd led West Indies to victory again. To date, only he and Ricky Ponting have won more than one World Cup as captain.

ICC World Cup winning captains list:

Year Captain Country
1975 Clive Lloyd West Indies
1979 Clive Lloyd West Indies
1983 Kapil Dev India
1987 Allan Border Australia
1992 Imran Khan Pakistan
1996 Arjuna Ranatunga Sri Lanka
1999 Steve Waugh Australia
2003 Ricky Ponting Australia
2007 Ricky Ponting Australia
2011 MS Dhoni India
2015 Michael Clarke Australia
2019 Eoin Morgan England

Source link

Tom Holland Spotted In NYC With Friends.

Tom Holland is now on vacation from his job and spending time with his buddies in New York City. Tom Holland went out...

Chris Hemsworth Gets Fans Buzzing At Premiere of Extraction 2.

Earlier this week, Chris and Sam Hargrave who is the director of Extraction 2 were present in Manila. Chris Hemsworth is one...

Jana Kramer Is Expecting Her First Child With Her Fiancé

Jana Kramer and her new fiancé Allan Russell are expecting their first child. The actor and singer from the country genre revealed her...

Fantasy Island: Cancelled by FOX, No Season Three for Reboot Series

The mysterious island resort has been closed by FOX. The community has cancelled its Fantasy Island collection, so it’s not returning for a 3rd season....

The Kerala Story Box Office Day 2 (Early Trends): Jumps & Jumps Big! The...

The Kerala Story field workplace day 2 is right here & this Vipul Shah manufacturing has continued to shock the commerce pundits....

‘Golmaal’ Series To ‘Go Goa Gone’, Celebrate World Laughter Day With Kunal Kemmu’s Comedies

Celebrated for his versatile performances, actor Kunal Kemmu has impressively carved a distinct segment for himself within the film trade through the...

Priyanka in Rickshaw with Nick Jonas | Got trolled.

Here Priyanka and Nick invited to the launch event of the Nita Mukesh Ambani Culture Centre. It was Malti's first visit to India,

Fire on Instagram | Thalapathy Vijay got 4 million subs

The iconic South Indian actor, Thalapathy Vijay, once again reminded everyone of his stature in India. After years of fans requesting him,

First birthday of Lianna | Gurmeet and Debina’s daughter.

Debina Bonnerjee revealed that she had been planning the celebration since Lianna's birth, and it was a dual celebration, as they also


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here